An upset in the men’s 100-meter backstroke: no U.S. winner.

In a shocking upset, Ryan Murphy of the United States settled for bronze in the men’s 100-meter backstroke. American males had not misplaced in the occasion since 1992, and Murphy was the defending Olympic champion. The Russians Evgeny Rylov and Kliment Kolesnikov completed first and second.

British swimmers dominated the men’s 200-meter freestyle as Tom Dean received gold and Duncan Scott received silver. Kieran Smith of the United States, the bronze medalist in the 400-meter freestyle, acquired off to a sluggish begin and couldn’t get better, ending sixth. He had entered the remaining with the second-fastest time in the semifinals.

The girls’s 100-meter backstroke was a scorcher. Kaylee McKeown of Australia received gold in an Olympic file of 57.47 seconds. Kylie Masse of Canada took silver, and Regan Smith of the United States, who had set an Olympic file in the semifinals, received bronze.

Source link